Eastern Caribbean States Plan Political Union

PT       2001-08-31 
Discussions at last month's meeting of the Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS) between the Prime Ministers of the English-speaking states in the Eastern Caribbean - Antigua, Dominica, Grenada, St Kitts-Nevis, St Lucia and St Vincent - have increased the chances of a political union between the five similar statelets, whose economies are based on agriculture, tourism and offshore financial services.