Citizens in British territories get citizenship rights

PT       2002-02-28 
More than 200,000 people living in British territories in the Caribbean and Atlantic will get their citizenship back having been reduced to colonial passports since 1983.

CyberAtlantis History Lesson:
Britain changed the Citizenship Act in 1983 which separated the citizenship rights into 2 categories: British Citizens (UK mainland + Gibraltar + later after the Falklands war - the Falkland Islands) and British Dependent Teritories Citizens (all remaining colonies).
The law was changed on purpose to screw over the British population of Hong Kong which at that time was over 3,000,000 people. The very next year (1994) Thatcher signed the Sino-Anglo Agreement which agreed to return Hong Kong in 1997.
Don't trust any government get a second passport before you need it.